Lost Woods

Rachel Carson
AUD $22.99
Availability: Not Yet Published

A collection of excerpts from unpublished writings and speeches by the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy and the seminal Silent Spring.

'The subject of man's relationship to his environment is one that has been uppermost in my own thoughts for many years.'

Rachel Carson's enduring fame was secured by the publication of just four books: her trilogy about the sea and Silent Spring. This collection of her previously unpublished and lesser-known writing gives a more personal picture of Carson's evolution as an environmental thinker. Here are both her public and private voice, bringing together youthful writing, essays, field journals, speeches, articles and letters. Lost Woods reveals her developing awareness of the fragility of the natural world and our impact on it, and of her campaign, ultimately successful, to bring international attention to the breadth of the challenges facing us. That we are finally becoming aware of the environmental emergency is thanks in no small part to Carson's prescient call to alarm.

Author bio:

Rachel Carson (1907-1964) was an American marine biologist. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sea trilogy: The Sea Around Us (winner of the National Book Award and the John Burroughs Medal), Under the Sea-Wind and The Edge of the Sea; as well as the seminal Silent Spring. Her books have been credited with advancing the global environmental movement.

Category: Literature & literary studies
ISBN: 9781786898920
Publisher: A&U Canongate
Imprint: Canongate PBS
Pub Date: June 2022
Page Extent: 288
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Diaries, letters & journals