Sabriel 25th Anniversary Edition

Garth Nix
AUD $27.99

Garth Nix's masterwork is a compelling high fantasy, the gripping story of a young heroine who must do battle in Death itself to defeat a powerful enemy. A tale of dark secrets, deep love and dangerous magic.

WINNER: 1995 Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction, Best YA Novel & Best Fantasy Novel
WINNER: 1996 American Library Association Award, Best Book for Young Adults
SHORT-LISTED: 1996 Ditmar Award, Best Long Fiction
SHORT-LISTED: 2003 W. H. Smith Book Awards, Children's Book of the Year

For many years Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that treacherous world - and face the power of her own extraordinary destiny.

This special 25th Anniversary Edition features bonus material including a letter from Garth, original notes and a facsimile of a first hand-written draft.

'Sabriel is a winner, a fantasy that reads like realism. Here is a world with the same solidity and four-dimensional authority as our own, created with invention, clarity and intelligence.' PHILIP PULLMAN

'Passionately exciting, full of intriguing characters and stunning scenery, Sabriel is sheer enjoyment.' THE TIMES

'Weaving horror and fantasy into a rich, original story. A powerful, gripping quest.' THE AGE

Author bio:

Garth Nix has been a full-time writer since 2001, but has also worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and as a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth's books include the Old Kingdom fantasy series: Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen, Clariel and Goldenhand; SF novels Shade's Children and A Confusion of Princes; and a Regency romance with magic, Newt's Emerald. His novels for children include The Ragwitch; the six books of The Seventh Tower sequence; The Keys to the Kingdom series; and Frogkisser! which is being developed as a film by Fox/Disney. His short fiction includes more than 60 published stories, some of them collected in Across the Wall and To Hold the Bridge. His most recent novels include Angel Mage and The Left-handed Booksellers of London. He has co-written several books with Sean Williams, including the Troubletwisters series; Spirit Animals Book Three: Blood Ties; Have Sword, Will Travel; and Let Sleeping Dragons Lie. More than six million copies of Garth's books have been sold around the world, they have appeared on the bestseller lists of The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, The Bookseller and others, and his work has been translated into 42 languages. He has won multiple Aurealis Awards, the Ditmar Award, the Mythopoeic Award, CBCA Honour Book, and has been shortlisted for the Locus Awards, the Shirley Jackson Award and others.

Category: Fantasy
ISBN: 9781760878214
Awards: Longlisted Best Designed Young Adult Cover, Australian Book Design Awards 2022 AU; Shortlisted W. H. Smith Book Awards, Children's Book of the Year 2003 AU; Shortlisted Ditmar Award, Best Long Fiction 1996 AU; Winner ALA (American Library Association) Award, Best Book for Young Adults 1996 AU; Winner Aurealis Awards for Excellence in Australian Speculative Fiction, Best YA Novel & Best Fantasy Novel 1995 AU
Publisher: A&U Children's
Imprint: A & U Children
Pub Date: August 2021
Page Extent: 392
Format: Hard Cover
Age: 14 - 99
Subject: Fantasy