Meat: The ultimate companion

The ultimate companion

Anthony Puharich and Libby Travers
£30.00

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW BEFORE SELECTING, BUYING AND COOKING MEAT

Anthony Bourdain, internationally acclaimed celebrity chef, meat lover and committed carnivore (Newsweek) contributed the foreword for this essential meat-lovers book. In Meat: The Ultimate Companion you will learn virtually all you need to know about meat, including why you should:


• Eat better quality meat, but eat less of it
• Eat the whole animal
• And, eat more wild animals

A meat eater's best friend: Meat: The Ultimate Companion is not just a meat cookbook. It is designed to walk you through the topic from the eyes of the farmer, the butcher, and the best cooks; helping you with the questions you might want to ask before you buy your meat.

Recipes for the hardcore carnivore: Over 110 recipes showcase the major cuts and draw on cuisines and chefs from around the world. Lavishly photographed and illustrated, it is sure to become a modern classic and a requirement for every kitchen.

The butchering art: Carefully curated by Anthony Puharich, legendary butcher and supplier to Australia's leading restaurants, together with accomplished food writer Libby Travers, this comprehensive and ambitious book covers:

• The history of every major animal we raise for meat
• International breed maps
• Cut diagrams and descriptions
• And, illustrated butchery techniques and expert tips on selecting, storing and cooking all kinds of meat

Meat: The Ultimate Companion is an excellent choice for fans of Stephanie Alexander, Michael Pollan, or Victor Churchill.

Author bio:

Anthony Puharich is a fifth-generation butcher but he's not your traditional butcher. Wholesaler of quality meat to eighty percent of Australia's finest restaurants, co-owner of Victor Churchill, the 'Bulgari of butcheries' in Sydney's Woollahra - a site visited by pilgrims from Oprah to AA Gill. He holds a unique position in the Australian food chain, by linking the farmer and the chef. Over the years he has developed an indepth understanding of what is required for a producer to be the best: animal husbandry, breed, regional differences.

Libby Travers is a food writer, commentator and communications consultant who has worked with some of the biggest names in food. Her interest in food focusses on its place in a country's culture and customs - with a particular soft spot for all things French. Libby is an advocate for food and wine that is produced sustainably and the importance of conviviality at the table.

Category: Food & drink
ISBN: 9781743363416
Publisher: Murdoch Books
Imprint: Murdoch Books
Publication date: December 2018
Page Extent: 512
Format: Hard Cover
Age: 0 - 0
Subject: Cookery / food & drink etc